Will Walk for Cheese

Today was a great day – I slept in until about 10 am before having two slices of Kashi raisin bread with the Nuts to You Nut Butter sunflower seed butter.
(Clearly I took a bite before remembering to snap a picture)
I also didn’t realize until yesterday that the sunbutter only has 1 ingredient in it:
In an age where products tend to have a lot of additives you can’t really beat this nutritionally.  I will buy this brand again once my other jar runs out!
I followed this up with 1/4 of the cantaloupe:
Then it was off to Kensington Market to pick up some produce.  Altogether I spent about $12 for a green pepper, 2 quarts of blueberries, 1 onion, fresh basil, alfalfa sprouts, 1 cucumber, 6 plum tomatoes  and 3 bulbs of garlic.  Pretty good, right? I keep asking myself why I didn’t think of doing this sooner.
Then I went home and dropped off my groceries, before heading out to Panacea to pick up this:
Daiya cheddar cheese – this stuff is legendary.  Funny enough, late last night while blogging I was informed that this product is an excellent non dairy, non soy cheese substitute.
The company also promotes the fact that its cheese melts and even stretches.  A big deal, if you remember my last rice cheese fiasco.  I also learned online that Panacea is one of the few health food stores in Ontario that offers said cheese.  This morning I had to go!
The lady at Panacea and I chatted about the cheese at the register.  She swears by it as the best fake cheese out there and assured me that I would love it.  Apparently Whole Foods in Canada doesn’t even offer it due to a number of compliance related issues as a result of its size (i.e. in Canada products require English/French packaging and labelling) which has prevented it from offering it here.  Which is really too bad, given that Daiya is a Canadian company AND the fact that Whole Foods in the US offers it.  Maybe Daiya will figure out a way of distributing it officially here in Canada?  Panacea apparently has been working through a distributor in the U.S. to have it shipped here.
When I got home, I knew I had to try it, so I made my favourite sandwich.
An oven roasted turkey sandwich with homemade bruschetta, spinach, cucumber, sprouts and Daiya cheese.
Verdict:  she was not wrong!  For a fake cheese this is definitely the best I’ve tasted.  It definitely melted and had the stretchy texture of cheese just out of the oven.  I’m definitely going back to Panacea to buy the other varieties (mozzarella and italian).  The world of dish possibilities has suddently opened up for me so I’m a very happy camper :).  A little of this stuff also goes a long way so you don’t need to put in as much as you normally would with the real stuff.
Then because my sweet tooth was calling me I finished off the last 1/4 of the cantaloupe.
Time to start prepping the chili for lunch next week – I’ll be sure to test the recipe before posting it!
This entry was posted in Products. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Will Walk for Cheese

  1. DJP says:

    I’m very happy to hear about your good experiences today – Yaya!

    Also, congratulations on your 30th blog entry! They keep getting better and better 🙂

Leave a Reply

