Food Processor Action

Judging from the title of this post, you can probably determine that my food processor and I were quite good friends today.

And man, did I rely on it A LOT.

Vegetable Orzo Salad – I used the food processor to chop my parsley and grate my carrots.  This recipe was based off of an idea I got from a coworker.  The bonus is that it’s easy to make (the majority of the time is spent upfront from prepping the ingredients).

Vegetable Orzo Salad

2 cups orzo cooked

2 stalks celery, chopped

1 red pepper chopped

2 carrots grated

1  cup fresh parsley, chopped

Dressing

Juice of 1 whole lemon

2-3 tbsp olive oil

1/4 cup dried cranberries

1/4 cup sunflower seeds

salt and pepper

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl.  Enjoy!

Other food processor assisted menu items:

Dessert I’ll be bringing over for dinner at the BH’s house tomorrow night.

I also used the processor to grind a paste containing spice and garlic for a Moroccan chicken recipe I’ll be making tomorrow.  No picture yet because I still have to marinate the chicken overnight.

It’s time for a break!  It seems like I’ve been in the kitchen for the majority of the day. All in all today was a productive day:

  • Met with Marcia and was killed again (military bench runs/mountain climbers are tough)
  • Revived my hurting fridge with some grocery shopping at the local market.  I didn’t realize how much I could save on fresh fruits and vegetables in particular.  Now that the weather is much nicer, extending my walk by 5 minutes or so will allow me to get in a bit of extra exercise while being kinder to my wallet.  From now on, I’ll be heading over the market whenever possible to get my fresh produce!
  • Cooked most of my meals for next week – (other than the Moroccan chicken and hummus I’ve got a head start and I’m ready to go!).

It’s time for some Chuck but before I go here are the eats for today:

Crispy kamut and blueberries

Rice milk – no soy or dairy.  It really does taste like cooked rice (haha obviously) but I thought it was pretty good for the most part.

Lunch was a leftover hamburger patty with a slice of rice cheese and some carrot sticks (not exciting and no picture, but content-wise my fridge was hurting :))

Snacked on these:

Dinner was orzo salad and some jamaican jerk chicken:

Jamaican jerk chicken – made from store bought jerk sauce

My dinner plate

Hope you enjoy the rest of your weekend!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

