Sugar Madness

It is time for an intervention.  They say that eating sugar only makes you crave it more.  Today was one of those days where I felt completely off the rails (thankfully I sent the BH home with some candy yesterday).   No matter what I ate I HAD to have sugar.  😦 I think I need to go cold turkey to get back on track  – no maple syrup, brown sugar, corn syrup, refined sugars or artificial sweeteners for the next week!  I need to think of a sufficient self bribe – perhaps a massage?  I’ve never gone for a professional one before.

Inspired by my lovely salads at Pumpernickels I decided to make an EDiet Mediterranean inspired salad.

Tabbouleh

1/2 cup couscous

3 tbsp olive oil

1 cup boiling water

2 cups finely chopped parsley  ( I sped things up with a food processor!)

1/2 cup finely chopped fresh mint (not a fan of mint leaves so I omitted this)

1 medium tomato (chopped roughly)

1/2 cucumber

3 tbsp fresh lemon juice

3/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp black pepper

Pour 1 cup boiling hot water over 1/2 cup couscous (let sit covered for 10-15 minutes).  When ready, drain using a sieve and cool.

Mix together all other ingredients including oil and lemn juice until well combined.  Stir in couscous when cooled.

I served my tabbouleh with falafel patties:

Falafel Patties

1 can chickpeas

1 small onion chopped

2 tbsp finely chopped fresh parsley

2 tbsp finely chopped fresh cilantro

1 tsp salt

1-1/2 tsp dried hot pepper flakes

4 cloves garlic

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp baking powder

4-6 tbsp flour (substitute with gluten free flour if needed)

Vegetable oil for frying

Combine all ingredients except flour  in a food processor.   Process until blended but not pureed.  Pulse in flour – add in enough so that mixture forms a ball that doesn’t stick to your hands.

Form the mixture into 6 large balls.

Heat oil in a pan on high and fry 1 ball to test (if mixture falls apart add more flour).

Fry both sides until golden brown and drain on paper towel.  Cook at 400 degrees in oven for 15-20 minutes for crunchier patties.  FYI: the retro toaster oven at my place is a little weak so I had to crank it up to 500 degrees to get the same effect.  Hey, my grandparents grew up as children of the war in China so my parents (and therefore my sister and I) were raised with the mentality that you don’t waste.  But don’t worry, this toaster oven isn’t coming with me when we get married!

The finished product:

Obviously my falafel flattened in the process 🙂  But they weren’t bad at all – besides, I have the feeling that getting perfectly spherical falafel, complete with the fully crunchy surface requires placing these guys in a deep fryer which I don’t own.  I’m also not really prepared to use a deep fryer unless it’s a special occasion!

Attempted a new yoga video today:

source

It was hard!  I’ve been trying to incorporate more yoga into my life and tend to prefer using DVDs so that I can practice in the quiet of my own home.  I liked her calming demeanor, but wasn’t a fan of the repetition (ie. each time we learned a new exercise, it would be added to the series which would be performed again from start to finish after incorporating the new move).  Sometimes being able to predict what’s coming can make working out monotonous.  Maybe that’s why I love Marcia so much – she kills me but I have no idea what’s coming until I’m forced to do it.  🙂

Time to go to bed now – have a great week!

Let the sugar fast begin – I’m going to need all the help I can get.

What are your tips for cutting sugar out of your diet?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

