Spiders = Screaming

I’m not a screamer by nature but when it comes to spiders it’s a different story.  If it helps, I’m the type who screams while killing spiders, but in order to complete the task successfully it usually requires a shoe or the weekly local newspaper as well as a thick wad of toilet paper or piece of paper towel to assist in cleanup.  The BH has never been witness to any of these incidents (living in a different home from me) but on more than one occasion has heard me over the phone yelling and whacking at whatever poor soul was misfortunate enough to cross my path.

Thankfully I was alone tonight when a large spider with a thick body and legs to match scuttled across my kitchen floor.  But seriously, if anyone were to see me they would think I was disturbed – it’s that unfortunate of a sight 😦

Spiders aside, today was a productive day despite waking up at 12 pm.  My green curry attempt was successful AND I also managed to figure out what may have went wrong with that nasty pumpkin molasses cookie recipe from yesterday.  Yay!

After getting up and finishing off the last pumpkin muffin I got to work on the green curry.   The recipe I used was modified from this one.  (but I’ve included the proportions I used below so that I can recreate it in the future!).

Thai Green Curry Chicken

1 lb skinless chicken breast, chopped into bite size pieces

1 whole broccoli, chopped into bite size pieces  (can use other vegetables such as snow peas, bamboo shoots, carrots or eggplant)

2-3 whole kaffir lime leaves (I bought mine in Chinatown)

1/3 can coconut milk

1/2 cup chicken broth

Green Curry Paste:

1 stalk lemongrass, thinly sliced

1/3 can coconut milk

3 birdseye green chilies

1 cup chopped coriander or cilantro (tightly packed)

1 shallot, chopped

4-5 cloves garlic

1 thumb size piece of ginger, sliced

2 tbsp fresh lime juice

1/2 tsp ground cumin

1/2 tsp ground coriander

1/2 tsp ground white pepper

1 tsp brown sugar

1.  Prepare green curry paste by placing all paste ingredients in a food processor and pulse until smooth.

2.  Heat 1 tbsp of oil in a wok over medium heat and add the paste.  Stir fry 1 minute to release fragrance

3.  Add chicken and simmer for about 5-6 minutes

4.  Add chicken broth plus kaffir leaves.  Reduce heat to medium-low.

5.  Add 1/3 can coconut milk plus vegetables and simmer another 3-4 minutes

6.  Taste test curry – if too spicy, add more coconut milk.  If too salty, add more lime juice.  For extra sweetness, add more sugar.

A kaffir lime leaf up close

Green Curry Paste

The finished product

Other food from today included:

Large salad with cherry tomatoes, cucumber, tandoori chicken, baby spinach and pita chips

Wildberry sorbet bar from Judy's

Pita chips for snack

After my green curry dinner I made another attempt at the molasses cookies.  This batch was MUCH better 🙂  (the other batch had a distinctly perfumey taste of too much molasses).

Gingerbread Cookies

1 cup all purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp ginger

1/2 tsp ground clove

1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce

1/3 cup canola oil

3/4 cup maple syrup

1 tbsp ground flax dissolved in warm water

1/4 cup molasses

Heat oven to 350 degrees celcius.  Mix wet ingredients together and add in dry ingredients.    Mix well.  Drop by tablespoons on greased cookie sheets and bake for 12-15 minutes.

The finished product (beside my chicken oven mitt):

Around cooking I managed to clean my desk, pay my bills and read more of the Difficult Conversations book I started a while back.  This book is a great resource!  For example, I learned today that conflict can occur because we often make assumptions about other people’s intentions.  As a person who can overreact at times, it was helpful to be reminded that we only know 2 things:  1) Our feelings and intentions  2) The impact on us  from the other person’s actions

and NOT 1) Their feelings and intentions  2)The impact of our actions on them

The book went on to say that goal of having these types of conversations should never be about being right but rather being able to express yourself in a manner that’s clear so that both parties can work towards understanding each other.  It may not be particularly profound, but a good lesson for me nonetheless considering the number of times I’ve made assumptions.

Time to sign off now and maybe watch the episode of Chuck that I haven’t gotten to yet!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spiders = Screaming

  1. BH says:

    Congrats on your successful green curry, it looks really good!!

Leave a Reply

