Privacy and Pumpkins

Today started normally enough – came into work and greeted my boss.  I even prepared a breakfast consisting of my last rice crispy bits and 1/2 cup blueberries:

Then my new boss reminded me that she had a new important meeting that started at 9 am (it was 8:55 am at this point and she didn’t have her materials yet).  OMG!  Long story short, I rushed to print off 11 or so spreadsheets and then returned to my desk to find that I had given her the wrong materials.  Turns out that I wasn’t cc’d on the meeting materials and therefore wasn’t aware of what she needed ahead of time.   Thankfully my new boss is extremely forgiving but I still felt angry at myself for messing up.

Anyways, learnings from the incident:  she assured me it was okay for me to review attachments in her email (I had avoided doing so for the sake of privacy – I operate on the premise that if there’s nothing I need to know, why go looking?)  My previous manager didn’t require as much support but it looks like I’ll need to pay special attention in the future.

I got so stressed in this that I had one of these:

Which was a huge cranberry spelt muffin from Naturally Yours in my building.  I felt so full afterwards :/ but I have no one to blame but myself!  Moral of the story: don’t beat up yourself and medicate with huge muffins because you’ll just feel full.

Returned some ties I bought for the BH and had lunch a little while later.  Which was you guessed it:  aloo gobi (cheater style):

Which yes, is the same picture as yesterday, but today I added some leftover turkey for that protein boost that keeps me full!  (and then didn’t remember to take a picture until after it was gone).

Followed the alleged gobi with my favourite cookies from Naturally Yours:

If you look closely you can see the bite taken out of the right side.  I don’t know how other food bloggers are able to photograph food before taking a bite, because the opposite seems to be a trend in my case.  🙂  I think I should search for a recipe similar to this so that I can stop spending $1.80 each time I buy these.  BUT they’re huge, yummy and soft which I think reels me in each time.

And then close to end of day had an apple:

Then headed to the mall after work where I purchased some more ties for the BH and a pair of socks for my 10 year old cousin:

Cupcake socks – I’ll put these with some other small gifts so that she has a big gift with many smaller gifts :).

Then I came home and found my aunt was back home again from her long trip abroad – caught up with her for a bit while I cleaned the dishes that were piling up in the sink (sorry Aunt Abby!) and then sat down and had this:

Remaining carrot sticks with leftover ham (almost done!) a toasted whole wheat tortilla and a bowl of split pea Amy’s soup.  It was very filling!

AND because my sweet tooth was calling me again, I made a batch of these:

Pumpkin muffins!  And I’m happy to report that they turned out okay (next time I’ll try substituting apple sauce for the oil, but I didn’t have any in the house).

Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins were inspired by my grandmother’s cousin, Aunt Nellie (I made a few modifications to fit my EDiet).

2 cups whole wheat flour

3 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp ginger

1/8 tsp ground cloves

6 tbsp vegetable oil

1 tbsp ground flax dissolved in 3 tbsp warm water

1 cup canned pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling)

1/3 cup pure maple syrup

Mix together all dry ingredients.  In a separate bowl beat all wet ingredients together before adding them to dry ingredients.  Stir just enough to moisten flour.  Fill greased muffin cups 2/3 full.  Bake until golden, about 15-17 minutes at 400 degrees.  Makes 12 muffins.

Time to go to bed soon, but I think I’ll watch some Chuck beforehand.  I’m finishing up season 2 and can’t wait to start season 3!

Good night! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Privacy and Pumpkins

  1. BH says:

    I make quite a few mistakes as well. If you can calmly remedy the situation and learn to avoid the problem next time then you will be sure to impress. Making different mistakes in the future is normal, and mistakes are allowed (just not the same ones repeatedly), this is how we learn.

Leave a Reply

