Sweet Tooth

Ahhhh .. must have something SWEET.  Course there’s nothing in the house (probably a good thing) and I wondered aloud to the BH if a spoonful of maple syrup would do the trick.  I think he was worried 🙂

During one of my rabid sugar cravings I decided to sample organic gummy bears from Nativa (Shoppers’ Drug Mart private organic label).  Couldn’t find a picture on their website, but the packaging looks something like this (except gummy bears of course):

source

They seemed like an okay deal for organic gummy bears $3.99 for the package instead of the other $5 ones I tried earlier.  Verdict:  NO comparison.

The Nativa gummy bears reminded me of hard winegums.  While the BH loves winegums – I don’t love them as much.  In fact, I buy gummy bears because I like their taste and texture more.  This candy featured the worst of both worlds (a non-gummy bear taste) and the hardness of low quality gummy bears.  Perhaps it’s the organic aspect of it, but I won’t be going back.  I rather pay another $2.00 to get the gummy bears from Lets Do…Organic these were soft and yummy!   Sadly, one of the few things I’m passionate in life about is gummies – loovve them! 🙂

Today was less of an action packed day (wedding deliberations continue, so stay tuned).

Breakfast was a bowl of Perky’s rice cereal with 1/2 cup blueberries and a banana.

Lunch was homemade “cheaters” aloo gobi – containing cauliflower & potatoes in a tomato curry sauce with 1/2 cup brown rice.

Aloo gobi is so tasty, but preparing all the herbs and vegetables can take so long.  In fact, I was held hostage in my kitchen last night trying to finish its preparation.  Hence the use of the word “cheater” in the recipe.  I ended up boiling the cauliflower and potato to get them to the right texture and then just coated them with the curry sauce.  Definitely if they were allowed to simmer for the prescribed 20-25 minutes my aloo gobi would be much tastier.  oh well – it’s still good!

My lack of protein led me to eat a red delicious apple and 2 bowls of cereal – I was so hungry 😦

BUT it was good fuel for the gym, where I sat on the stationary reclining bike and pedaled at level 3 for as long as I could stand it.  It was around 25 min, with breaks at 11 min and 9 min for 2 min and 3 min respectively.  Marcia prescribed me a program where I pedal at level 5 for 15 min followed by level 3 for 25 min.  All I can say is that it is NOT happening – I can barely pedal and my pace goes down to the point that the bike stops itself.  Clearly more dates with bike are in order!

Afterwards took it easy on the weights did:

30 shoulder presses (5lb dumbbells)

10 backbends holding onto wall for 8 counts

10 backbends against wall for 8 counts (practicing flat back and holding poses with my back parallel to the ground – I need to strengthen my back big time!)

20 tricep kickbacks (5lbs, each arm – yeah, low weight, but my triceps are pretty weak)

30 pushups (2 sets of 15 on knees)

The point of the workout was to release tension – which I did!  I’m thinking that working out in the evenings should help me to sleep better for the next while, so I’m going to give it a try.

Came home and had dinner:

Had some leftover honey ham with more aloo gobi (the recipe makes A LOT) and a bowl of Amy’s split pea soup.  Pretty tasty and satisfying.

Now it’s off to bed for me (but beforehand I need to find something sweet!)

EDIT:  Here is the aloo gobi recipe!

Neetika’s Aloo Gobi (the BH’s former boss – lovely lady!)

5-6 tbsp vegetable oil

1 large onion, peeled and cut into small pieces

1 bunch fresh coriander/cilantro, separated into stalks and leaves and roughly chopped

1 small green chili – chopped into small pieces (optional – depends on whether you like your curries spicy)

1 large cauliflower, leaves removed and cut evenly into small pieces

3 large potatoes, peeled and cut into even pieces

1/2 can – 1 full 796 mL can diced tomato (vary according to taste – I used a full can)

1 inch piece fresh ginger – peeled and grated

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 tsp cumin seeds

2 tsp turmeric

1 tsp salt

1 tsp garam masala

1 tsp coriander powder.

Heat 5-6 tbsp vegetable oil in a large saucepan.

Add 1.5-2 tsp of cumin seeds to the oil (approximately 30 seconds).  Don’t let it burn, stir it around if necessary.

Stir together and cook until onions become translucent.  Turn down heat and put a lid on, stirring from time to time.

Add in chopped coriander stalks, turmeric and salt.   Add chopped chilies and stir tomatoes into onion mixture, follwed by ginger and garlic.

Add potatoes and cauliflower to the sauce (make sure mixture doesn’t stick to saucepan).  (Tip:  to be a cheater you can pre-boil the potatoes and cauliflower to desired texture before adding them to the mixture to simmer).

Ensure that the potatoes and cauliflower are coated with the curry sauce.

Cover and allow to simmer for 20 min (or until the right softness).  Add 2 tsp of garam masala and stir.  Sprinkle chopped coriander leaves on top of curry.

Turn off the heat, cover and leave for as long as possible before serving (flavours get better the longer you wait!).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sweet Tooth

  1. Ricki says:

    Hi Erin,

    Glad you went for a more healthy sweet! 🙂 And THANK YOU for the support for the EL-LENd a Hand campaign! I’m working on something I hope will convince Ms. D even more–but all support is greatly appreciated! Thanks for the email! 😀

  2. BH says:

    “Cheaters” aloo gobi is right! Maybe even “alleged” gobi 🙂
    It still looks good though!

    Soon you shall have the “better” camera back.

Leave a Reply

