Swiss Chalet Saturday

This weekend was filled with some good eats 🙂

On Saturday night my Aunt and I went to Swiss Chalet.  I love Swiss Chalet – and they’re pretty good with keeping track of allergies!  On their website they actually list out all allergens (and I was thrilled to find out that their fries didn’t conflict with my Ediet :))  And while Swiss Chalet may not be high on my list of healthy foods this meal was a major pick me up given my recent Ediet woes.

My food

My Aunt’s food (basically the same thing,but with 1/3 rack of ribs)

For those of you who are interested, check out Swiss Chalet’s Allergy guide here. The chicken and fries were safe for me because they didn’t have soy or dairy in them.  However, both the roll and the special chalet sauce do so beware if you have a soy allergy.

P.S.  For those of you who were wondering:  No, Swiss Chalet didn’t pay me either to write this post.  When I was on an Ediet years ago I was able to eat at Swiss Chalet as well which made me so happy (given fast food and eating out at the time was pretty much not an option).

We chatted for a bit and then I went home and made a batch of breakfast cookies (a modified recipe from Tosca Reno’s Eat Clean cookbook).   Unfortunately the batch is almost gone, but I’ve included a pic of a lone cookie below.

Here’s the modified recipe

1/2 cup maple syrup (originally brown sugar)

1/4 cup safflower oil

3 egg whites

1/4 cup finely chopped dried figs

1 tsp vanilla

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup whole-wheat flour

1/2 cup wheat bran flakes

2 tbsp ground flax seed

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp allspice

Note: this recipe also includes 1/4 cup each of dried cranberries and slivered almonds, but I had eaten all of the cranberries and cut out the almonds because they weren’t Ediet friendly.

The verdict: pretty good!  I’d make them again at least (and I like how the use of wheat bran flakes and ground flaxseed gave it the texture of an oatmeal cookie without oatmeal (another “avoid” on the list).  Plus they were sweet enough while being healthy minus the cardboard taste.  To be honest, I’m not usually a fan of Tosca’s recipes (too many out there ingredients that I get stuck with and can’t find a use for later) but this one was a winner (maybe I’ll hang out more in the sweets section of the cookbook).

Sunday recap to follow about the trip that the BH and I took to the Magic Oven.

This entry was posted in Dining Out. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

