I love muffins

I really do love muffins – I must have had 3 of these bad boys today:

One at 6 am before my gym workout and 2 after I came home from work today.  I couldn’t help it!  The ingredients are pretty good to – durham flour, spring water, maple syrup, honey, wild blueberries, sunflower oil, baking soda, sea salt and pure vanilla extract.  Not bad for someone who’s used to muffins pumped up by trans fats (which still taste good if you want my honest opinion but my days of unhealthy eating have been numbered).

So got up and went to the gym (did the program my trainer assigned me)

Walk up and down 3 flights of stairs carrying 12lb dumbbells  (10x)

Tricep dips off workout bench (15x)

1 arm cable rows  at 50lbs (15x) – both right and left arm

Situps on an incline bench (20x)

Pushups (on knees because my form sucks) (15x)

Military bench runs (holding on to bench jog so that knees touch chest) (20x)

Stationary lunges (12 lbs), 20X switching legs (held onto pole because my balance with these isn’t so great)

30 jumping jacks

Situps while lying on bench bringing legs back up and down at a 45 degree angle (15x)

Shoulder press with 12 lb dumbbells (15x)

I did the circuit above 3 times (which took me about 50 minutes).  I figure at least if I write about what I did here, I’ll be more consistent throughout the week 🙂  Although cardio for me is my personal hell.

My eats for today once I got to work:

Breakfast: 3/4 cup quinoa flakes with 1/2 cup blueberries, 1 tbsp ground flax and 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce

Lunch:  2 (6 inch) BLT wraps (pic to come tomorrow) with grilled chicken, bacon, baby spinach and tomato

Snack:  1 pink lady apple

Snack2 (because I was still hungry):  baby carrots and hummus

Dinner:  Salad greens, trout with dill and mushrooms and onions

Took a page from BH’s suggestion book and took this pic in my pseudo greenhouse for better lighting.

Time to get ready for bed soon so that I can make another gym date for tomorrow morning.  The plan is cardio but we’ll have to see what happens!

This entry was posted in Workout. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I love muffins

  1. Bob Seger says:

    It’s amazing what a difference natural light can make. That picture in the pseudo greenhouse has vibrant colours and the edges of the salad are crisp and sharp even when viewing at full size. There are very interesting shadows as well making this my favourite shot so far.

    I realized that you are holding your food with one hand while taking a picture with the other. One suggestion would be to set the food down on a nice surface and take a picture from a bit further away. That way you can “frame” the food nicely and put that giant salad in perspective 🙂 I’m also kind of embarrassed about how long it took me to figure out that your fingers were underneath the muffins, not between them…

    Definitely keep up the good work.

    • Bob Seger,

      Yes – I am super lazy when it comes to taking pictures of my food. :S I think I will need to set up a nice surface in my pseudo greenhouse for food photoshoot purposes. I resorted to using my hand because I was too scared to put my food down on the dusty concrete. Perhaps a small table or chair? I will see what I can find 🙂

Leave a Reply

