Elimination Diet … 10 years later

With the adverse reactions I’d been experiencing lately I decided to pay a visit to my Naturopath, which resulted in me being placed on Elimination Diet #2.  I’m not going to lie, I was not a happy camper.   Elimination Diet #1 was back about 11 years ago when I was 15 and experiencing similar problems.  I was perpetually hungry, resentful and pretty much deprived.  I continue to blame my stress eating and sweet tooth on my deprivation years ago (and I don’t hesitate to remind my parents about my 6 month “fast”).

So here’s the avoid list:

  • NO chocolate
  • NO dairy
  • NO soy
  • NO nuts
  • NO oats (yeah, I was really confused for this one too.  Apparently my naturopath has some patients who react very violently to oats.  But seriously, oats?!  But it could be a culprit since I have oats 5/7 days of the week)
  • NO mangoes, grapes, strawberries, citrus
  • NO eggs (used as an ingredient in baking is okay, but avoid eating it in omelette form or at those greasy breakfast diner places)

She’s also asked me to write down everything I eat so that she can refer to it and make suggestions.  I also eat a lot of baked chicken and I use a variety of marinades from the store – she recommended plain chicken is best but my feeling is that as long as the marinade doesn’t contain anything from the list above I’m going to eat it anyways.   So there!

But yeah, what am I going to eat now?  While she told me to do this from Monday to Friday, I have enough experience to know that this plan is probably going to be occurring for a lot longer than that.  It’s definitely going to be a challenge to say the least, but this one of those things in life that just is.  So it’s time to deal with it – incidentally I also saw a regular doctor yesterday who said that the reactions I’ve been having tend to happen temporarily, with no identifiable cause.  Even so, I strongly believe in variables like diet and stress and its impact on the body.

However, I vow that things will be different this time around for a couple of reasons:

1.  My current Naturopath is very experienced (think older Russian lady with a Ph. D in dermatology and a doctor in Russia).  While she did initially did eliminate some foods from my diet they were more random (chocolate, grapes, citrus) as opposed to all encompassing (ie. NO sugar, NO oil, NO wheat).  I have seen a lot of progress since seeing her so I have some assurance.

2.  I am much older and wiser 🙂  But seriously, I feel much better educated about the foods that are out there and I understand my body’s needs a lot better than I did back then.  I try to get at least 7 hours of sleep and drink a lot more water, as well as exercise 3-4 times a week.

3. A wider abundance of health food stores as well as health food sections in the grocery store – there are so many more options these days than there was 10 years ago.  You can almost anything in a healthier format so I really enjoy browsing any health food stores that come my way for new products.

4.  I understand the impact of stress and the part that it can play (again, not something we were aware of years ago, but knowing this is key and will help me to better manage daily stressors).

5.  The availability of resources online – I love reading food blogs for recipe ideas. There’s also tons of websites devoted to the subject of restricted diets.

It’s going to take a bit of creativity to think of some dishes that meet the criteria above but I’m up for a challenge.  If anything this blog will help to stay on the wagon and not cheat 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Elimination Diet … 10 years later

  1. Intrigued in Oakville says:

    Sounds like an interesting blog you have here; I look forward to future entries!

Leave a Reply

